Login  Register

Re: Docking Claw questions

Posted by MortiS-the-Lost on Jun 02, 2014; 9:30am
URL: http://the-lost-and-the-damned.71.s1.nabble.com/Docking-Claw-questions-tp7580875p7580877.html

Stevo wrote
It’s the first turn of Mission 2.  The Ultramarine player has moved his point man on to the board, scanned, and the Alien has placed his Blips.  Three of them are placed against the door of the Imperial Fist Docking Claw.

   
Yea I've seen this happen a few times - there's 2 ways of handling it

Method 1 (my preferred method)

The first and perhaps most simple way is to clarify that blips cannot be placed in line of sight of the Marines in the docking claw (even if the hatch is closed). This is probably what the rules intend.

Stevo wrote
are Marine miniatures allowed to finish their turn still in their Docking Claw, and if so, can they move onto the board in subsequent turns?
My group rules as follows on this matter:
No, you must move all your Marines onto the board in your first turn. Also you cannot return to your docking claw until the mission is complete.

It can assumed that either the Blast Doors lock closed and/or the Docking Claws retract to stop aliens boarding the Marine's Assault ships (In fact in the computer game, you can see the docking claw withdrawing from the Spacehulk and if you've left any marines in the docking claw you loose them!)

also please note the following related clarification:
Marines Movement in the first turn should be measured from the 2 squares in front of the Docking Claw's hatch and marines can be moved off the Docking Claw in any order the player wishes

Method 2 (an alternative)

I like to call this the 'Open-Assault Pod' method, Basically the little section of corridor inside the Docking Claw counts as 6 extra squares were your marines start and the door is treated like any other. This means not only can aliens move into the docking claw, but you have to be a little more tactical with deployment as the marines at the back won't get to move as far onto the board as the ones at the front.  
-----------------------------------
~The ravings of a single mad Goblin is bad enough, but such a power-hungry, malice-filled creature as Mortis can never hope to be understood~