Posted by
MortiS-the-Lost on
Nov 23, 2011; 4:58pm
URL: http://the-lost-and-the-damned.71.s1.nabble.com/Screamer-Killer-for-Space-Crusade-tp7025115.html
Here (finally) are my rules for using the classic Screamer-Killer (Carnifex) as a replacement for the Dreadnought in Space Crusade - this is the first of 3 Tyranid 'boss monsters' I've been working on the rules for recently

The Screamer-Killer is one of the larger Tyranid creatures. It is a living engine of destruction bred for use in assaults, boarding actions and massed battles to crush enemy forces. Though less numerous than other Tyranid creatures, Screamer-Killers are almost impossible to kill and capable of immense destruction.
MovementThe Screamer-Killer is a huge monstrous creature which occupies 4 squares and follows all the same Movement rules as a Dreadnought, including the rules for passing through doors.
Bio-PlasmaRasping plates in the screamer-Killer's mouth, gases secreted in it's lungs and a high frequency scream produced by the creatures vocal cords combine to produce a ball of unstable Bio-plasma which is belched forth to burn its path across the battlefield.
The Bio-Plasma attack works in the same way as a Plasma Gun, but rolls 2R 1W and has a 2 square wide Line of Effect.

Like other Line-of-Effect weapons Bio-Plasma stops when it hits a wall, door or other obstacle, however if only 1 line of the 2 square wide Line-of-Effect hits an obstacle the other line may continue.
Example:

^
The Screamer-Killer uses it's Bio-Plasma attack against this group of Space Marines and rolls a 6. Marines B and C (AV 2) are are killed, Marine D is behind a piece of wall which blocks 1 line of the 2 square wide Line-of-Effect and thus is unharmed. Marine A is of course outside of the Line-of-EffectLife PointsLike a Dreadnought the Screamer-Killer has 3 life points, however unlike a Dreadnought it continues to roll it's full number of dice in Close Combat and when using it's Bio-Plasma attack until it is reduced to 0 Life Points and killed
Coming soon: The Lictor and The Genestealer Brood Lord!
-----------------------------------
~The ravings of a single mad Goblin is bad enough, but such a power-hungry, malice-filled creature as Mortis can never hope to be understood~